CA MANDATES PAID SICK LEAVE

This alert comes to us from our friends at Aprea & Micheli, Inc.: California just became the second state in the nation to mandate employers provide paid sick leave to employees. Assembly Bill 1522, authored by Assemblywoman Lorena Gonzalez (D-San Diego), imposes this mandate upon businesses by requiring both small and large employers to provide mandatory, protected, paid sick leave to their employees.

AB 1522 enacted the “Healthy Workplaces, Healthy Families Act of 2014” and provides that an employee who, on or after July 1, 2015, works in California for 30 or more days within a year from the commencement of employment is entitled to paid sick days for certain prescribed purposes, to be accrued at a rate of no less than one hour for every 30 hours worked. The rate of paid sick leave shall be the employee’s hourly wage. Exempt employees are deemed to work 40 hours per week.

Click here to read more about the bill and consult with your company HR counsel to assure that you are prepared to be in compliance with the law.

© 2007-2012 Building Owners and Managers Association of California (BOMA Cal)